About This Blog

This blog aims to help myself, as well as other aquarium hobbyists out there, provide a better home for our fish...
This blog contains species profile of saltwater and marine fish I am interested in. I know I won't be able to acquire and keep them all because of limited space, compatibility, other special requirements, etc., but it would be nice to take note of each of them as I go along. Who knows, one day I might win the lottery and run my own "Haus des Meeres" or "Georgia Aquarium" :-)
Blog Name: Ocean Aquaristic
Topic/s: Marine Aquarium Hobby, Marine Fish Species Profile
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Occupation: IT and Research
On Blogger since: July 2010
My Blogs: Ocean Aquaristic
Tropical Fishkeeping, Marine Aquarium Hobby, Bonsai, Music, Arts, Reading, Drawing / Painting, Movies, Culinary, Camping, Swimming, Tennis, Table Tennis, Volleyball, Biology, The Ocean, The Rainforests, Environmental Issues and Conservation, Human Rights, etc.
Being an aquarium hobbyist made me learn more than just keeping tropical fish in the home aquaria. It opened my eyes to the great biodiversity that exists in our planet and its importance to our survival. Thus, keeping in mind the value of each marine life I bring home, how to responsibly sustain them, and in my own little way as an aquarist, contribute to the protection of their natural habitats and promote appreciation and awareness of our environment.

The hobby also helped me develop new skills, turning me into some sort of "jack of all traits" - a biologist, chemist, designer, carpenter, veterinary nurse, gardener, writer, etc.

On top of everything else, the aquarium in my living room provides such a relaxing athmosphere which is like a therapy to me every night I come home from work.

Should you have a bit of time, please feel free to post a comment below each fish profile to share your experiences regarding a particular species.

A Note on Responsible Fishkeeping
I know the term "hobby" in the aquarium hobby may not sound so "serious", but like with other of our pets (dogs, cats, etc.), respect and commitment are utmost necessities if you decide to venture into fishkeeping. Talking about seriousness... my note below may get a bit serious...
There are a lot of factors to take into consideration on being a responsible fishkeeper, but below are a few of the important points (in my opinion) I would like to ponder:
Research – Read – Research – Read - Learn...
Take your time to get to know the aquatic life/lives you are going to take home. Find out how big they can grow when they reach maturity and if you honestly believe you can sustain them when they are at that stage. Find out what kind of environment they thrive in, in their natural habitat and try your best to replicate this in their new home. Find out what kind of food they consume and the nutrition they need to survive as healthy as possible. Find out what kind of other species they can or may coexist with. Find out as much information you can gather even before your initial setup.

There are so many resources available out there, especially in the World Wide Web, so there's no more excuse for ...... :-)
Maintenance – Regular Water Change – Maintenance...
Like a lot of us who clean our houses, rooms, flats or even our cars regularly in order to feel comfortable, safe, as well as healthy, we should also provide our fish with a clean environment. Regular water change with identical water parameters will sustain your aquatic lives, keep them vigorous and active and happy. Perform regular maintenace also on your filters, aquarium glasses, powerheads, lighting, substrate, etc.
One of the most important aspects of fishkeeping is the aquarist's responsibility to ensure that the hobby does not or will not have negative impacts on the unique and diverse environment that we are fortunate enough to live in.
Try your best to find out where and how the fish are caught (illegal and unsuitable methods such as the use of cyanide) and if the species are being over-fished, or are endangered. You can do so by checking if the fish you want to have is listed on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. There are a lot of fish that are overly harvested for the aquarium trade, affecting both the species and their habitats (such as the coral reefs) – often so badly that some are already endangered, like the Bangai Cardinalfish (Pterapogon kauderni). We are lucky today that somehow there are already a lot of responsible importers, dealers and LFS out there who make sure that the specimens they acquire for distribution are collected in a proper way or are aquacultured.
On a brighter side, like the P. kauderni, there are a lot of fish species available in the hobby that are already being successfully bred in captivity, such as the Amphiprion ocellaris, Centropyge loricula, Gramma loreto, a lot of seahorse species, etc. Purchasing captive bred specimens has a lot of advantages as they will adapt fairly quick to their new homes and are much hardier compared to the wild caught ones.
- Martha Holmes on "Deep Trouble"
BBC - The Blue Planet
Furthermore, the demand for captive bred fish will increase, and in doing so will help those who are already breeding them in captivity, and those wanting and willing to aquaculture these species get rewarded for their efforts, and more importantly, lessen the fishing / collecting pressure in the wild.
And also, please do not release captive specimens into the wild. This is not only illegal, but it has detrimental effects on the local wildlife, ecosystems and global biodiversity. This is not only true for fish, but also for plants, invertebrates and other living creatures as well. If in case you have no choice but to really let go of the animals, take them back to your LFS if they would still accept them or look for zoos or local aquariums who will be willing to take them over, or in the worst case, perform euthanasia.
So, if you are contemplating on venturing into the aquarium hobby, I really do hope I did not scare you (which is not the point of this note) with the "stuff" I mentioned above. You can find out more about responsible fishkeeping by joining / supporting the Responsible Fishkeeping Initiative (RFI) by Fish Channel.com.
I can guarantee you 150% that you will enjoy the hobby a lot more, with 200% satisfaction, if you are able to sustain the lives you bring home into your aquarium, with a comforting thought that the EARTH we live in is still intact.
Sites I frequently visit:
Advanced Aquarist - http://www.advancedaquarist.com
Age of Aquariums - http://www.aquahobby.com
Animal Planet - http://animal.discovery.com
Animal World - http://www.animal-world.com
Aquarium Domain - http://www.aquariumdomain.com
Aquatic Community - http://www.aquaticcommunity.com
ARKive - http://www.arkive.org
Blue Ocean Society - http://www.blueoceansociety.org
Brian Gratwicke - http://www.briangratwicke.com
Census of Marine Life - http://www.coml.org
Center for Biological Diversity - http://www.biologicaldiversity.org
CHANGE.Org - http://www.change.org
Children & Nature Network - www.childrenandnature.org
Conservation International - http://www.conservation.org
Coral Reef Alliance - http://www.coral.org
DaniReef - http://www.danireef.com
The Discovery Channel - http://www.discovery.com
Earth Conservation - http://www.earthconservation.net
Earth Day Network - http://www.earthday.org
Earthwatch - http://www.earthwatch.org
Endangered Species Coalition - http://www.stopextinction.org
The Fish Channel - http://www.fishchannel.com
FishLore - http://www.fishlore.com
Greenpeace International - http://www.greenpeace.org
IUCN Red List - http://www.iucnredlist.org
Kids for Saving Earth (KSE) - http://kidsforsavingearth.org
Luc Viatour - Photography - http://www.lucnix.be
Meerwasser Forum - http://www.meerwasserforum.info
Meerwasser Lexikon - http://www.meerwasser-lexikon.de
Microcosm Aquarium Explorer - http://en.microcosmaquariumexplorer.com
Mrutzek Meeresaquaristik und Reptilien - http://www.meeresaquaristik.de
Nano-Reef - http://www.nano-reef.com
Nano Reef Blog - http://www.nanoreefblog.com
National Geographic - http://www.nationalgeographic.com
National Wildlife Federation - http://www.nwf.org
The Nature Conservancy - http://www.nature.org
New Age Reefs - http://www.newagereefs.com
Ocean Conservancy - http://www.oceanconservancy.org
Oceana - http://www.oceana.org
Ocean Research & Conservation Association - http://www.oceanrecon.org
Pet Education - http://www.peteducation.com
Project Seahorse - http://seahorse.fisheries.ubc.ca
Practical Fishkeeping - http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk
Reef Central - http://www.reefcentral.com
Reef Gizmo - http://www.reefgizmo.com
Reefkeeping.Com - http://www.reefkeeping.com
Reef Land - http://www.reefland.com
Reef Ramblings - http://reeframblings.co.uk
RTAW Reefpedia - http://www.masa.asn.au/masawiki
Saltcorner.Com - http://www.saltcorner.com
Science Daily - http://www.sciencedaily.com
Seahorse.Com - http://www.seahorse.com
Seahorse.Org - http://www.seahorse.org
See Turtles - http://www.seeturtles.org
Starfish.Ch - http://www.starfish.ch
SAIA - Sustainable Aquarium Industry Association - www.saia-online.eu
Tropical Fish Hobbyist Magazine (TFH) - http://www.tfhmagazine.com
WetWebMedia - http://www.wetwebmedia.com
Wikipedia - http://www.wikipedia.org
Wildlife Conservation Society - http://www.wcs.org
World Animal Day - http://www.worldanimalday.org.uk
World Fish Center - http://www.worldfishcenter.org
WWF - http://www.panda.org
I do not endorse any copyright infringement in my blog’s content. The images posted here are photos I came across searching the internet, some sent to me by friends, and the rest I asked permission from their respective owners / makers before I posted them here. I did look up the copyright information on each image, posted the source when available, and if there are no copyright captions, then that is because they were not available at that moment.

Should you find that your image was posted here without your consent, then it happened without the knowledge of this fact and such published material will be immediately removed from my blog after a notification and verification of such infringement is sent.

In such case, please contact me right away at: ocean.aquaristic@gmail.com and I will implement immediate actions based on your request.

I am not responsible for the contents or reliability of any linked websites and does not necessarily endorse the views expressed within them. The listing of a link shall not be taken as endorsement of any kind. I cannot guarantee that these links will work all of the time and I have no control over the availability of linked pages.

The data on all Saltwater and Marine Fish Profiles have also been gathered through research, collected from different sources either online or offline. Please take note of the "REFERENCES" under each profile to see where the information came from.

Even if I work hard to ensure that the information on this site is accurate and complete, I do not accept any liability arising from any inaccuracy or omission in the information provided. I advise you to verify the accuracy of any information before relying on it.

Due to the nature of dynamics of taxonomic classification, many fish referred in documents through this site may hold older binomial names. This is due to the fact that I have only gathered this information, and I respect articles as they were originally published, with the generally accepted nomenclature at that given time.